

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# COMMITTEE ON TAX POLICY REP. CYNTHIA NEELEY CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

12:00 PM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by Chair Neeley.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Neeley, Farhat, Brixie, Brenda Carter, Whitsett, Grant, Price,

VanWoerkom, Markkanen, Outman, Tisdel, Hoadley.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Farhat moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 13, 2024. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5394 before the committee:

HB 5394 (Rep. Neeley)

A bill to amend 1978 PA 368, entitled "Public health code," by amending section 10120 (MCL 333.10120), as amended by 2023 PA 101.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5394, but did not wish to speak: Elizabeth Kutter, representing the Michigan Health and Hospital Association. Melissa Horste, representing the Michigan Department of State.

Representative Farhat moved to report out HB 5394 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 11-0-1:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Neeley, Farhat, Brixie, Brenda Carter, Whitsett, Grant, Price, VanWoerkom,

Outman, Tisdel, Hoadley.

Nays: None.

Pass: Rep. Markkanen.

The Chair laid HB 4491 before the committee:

HB 4491 (Rep. Rogers)

A bill to establish an electric bicycle transportation incentive program; to provide discount vouchers to certain individuals for the purchase of an eligible electric bicycle; to establish a process for applying, issuing, and reimbursing discount vouchers issued under the program; and to prescribe the powers and duties of certain state entities and officers.

Representative Rogers and Matt Penniman, representing the League of Michigan Bicyclists, testified in support of HB 4491. Questions and discussion followed.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4491, but did not wish to speak:

Dr. Ashley Lovell, representing PeopleForBikes.

Ross Gavin, representing the Michigan Environmental Council.

Charles Griffith, representing The Ecology Center.

Stephen Merz, representing Grosse Pointe Trek Bicycle.

Cal Koehler, representing Walled Lake Trek Bicycle.

Todd Scott, representing the Detroit Greenway Coalition.

John Fournier, representing the City of Ann Arbor.

Phil Browne, representing EBike-UBike.

Jane McCurry, representing Clean Fuels Michigan.

Amy Drumm, representing the Michigan Retailers Association.

Tim Minotas, representing the Sierra Club.

The Chair laid HB 4572 before the committee:

HB 4572 (Rep. Slagh)

A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled "The general property tax act," by amending section 27a (MCL 211.27a), as amended by 2016 PA 375.

Representative Slagh testified in support of HB 4572. Questions and discussion followed.

Ryan Snyder, representing his family, testified in support of HB 4572.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4572, but did not wish to speak:

Brad Ward, representing the Michigan Retailers Association.

Amanda Tomich, representing the Michigan Assessors Association.

Dawn Crandall, representing the Home Builders Association of Michigan.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4572, but did not wish to speak:

Mike Latvis, representing the Wayne Regional Educational Service Agency.

Jennifer Smith, representing the Michigan Association of School Boards.

Jerry Johnson, representing the Barry, Branch, Calhoun, Jackson, Lenawee, and Monroe Intermediate School Districts.

Dan Behm, representing Education Advocates of West Michigan.

Tammy Daenzer, representing the Michigan Education Association.

Representative Farhat moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4572. The motion prevailed 11-

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Neeley, Farhat, Brixie, Whitsett, Grant, Price, VanWoerkom, Markkanen,

Outman, Tisdel, Hoadley.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

The Chair laid HB 4847 before the committee:

HB 4847 (Rep. Fitzgerald)

A bill to amend 1967 PA 281, entitled "Income tax act of 1967," (MCL 206.1 to 206.847) by adding sections 277a and 677a.

Representative Fitzgerald, Ben Steyer, representing the Michigan Soybean Association, Jeff Earl, representing Clean Fuels Alliance America, and Pete Probst, representing Indigenous Energy, testified in support of HB 4847. Questions and discussion followed.

Mark Schrupp, representing the Wayne County Port Authority, testified in support of HB 4847.

Jane McCurry, representing Clean Fuels Michigan, testified in support of HB 4847.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4847, but did not wish to speak:

Racquel Garcia, representing the Southwest Detroit Environmental Vision.

Patrick Cudney.

Brian O'Connell, representing Cummins.

Chuck Lippstreu, representing Michigan Agri-Business.

Jason Smith, representing the Warner Petroleum Corporation.

Shane Applebee, representing Applebee Oil and Propane.

Darren Riley, representing JustAir.

Derek Dalling, representing the Michigan Propane Association.

Maggie Striz Calnin, representing Michigan Clean Cities.

Ed Rivet, representing the Michigan Conservative Energy Forum.

Amy Drumm, representing the Michigan Retailers Association.

Andrw Vermeesch, representing the Michigan Farm Bureau.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4847, but did not wish to speak:

Megan Tinsley, representing the Michigan Environmental Council.

Tim Minotas, representing the Sierra Club.

Logan Vorce, representing the Michigan League of Conservation Voters.

Peter Morman, representing the Michigan Department of Treasury.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Neeley adjourned the meeting at 1:15 PM.

Edward Sleeper Committee Clerk esleeper@house.mi.gov

