

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY

REP. JOE BELLINO
CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, October 27, 2021

9:00 AM

Room 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Energy was called to order by Chair Bellino.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Bellino, Markkanen, Hoitenga, Reilly, Berman, Paquette, Martin, Outman,

Roth, Manoogian, Haadsma, Morse, Puri, Scott.

Absent: Reps. Sneller, Cherry. Excused: Reps. Sneller, Cherry.

Representatives Markkanen, Berman, Outman, Manoogian, Haadsma, Morse and Puri joined the committee remotely.

Representative Reilly moved to adopt the meeting minutes from October 20, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4715 and HB 4716 before the committee:

HB 4715 (Rep. Hood) A bill to amend 2008 PA 295, entitled "Clean and

renewable energy and energy waste reduction act," (MCL 460.1001 to 460.1211) by adding sections

235 and 237.

HB 4716 (Rep. Hoitenga) A bill to amend 2008 PA 295, entitled "Clean and

renewable energy and energy waste reduction act,"

by amending section 5 (MCL 460.1005), as amended by 2016 PA 342, and by adding part 8.

Representative Hoitenga and Representative Hood, testified in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716. Questions and discussion followed.

Laurel Passera, representing the Coalition for Community Solar Access, and Scott Risley, representing Nautilus Solar Energy, testified together in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716.

Questions and discussion followed.

Grace Michienzi, representing the Michigan EIBC; Liz Reddington, representing Pivot Energy; and John Kinch, representing Michigan Energy Options, testified together in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716. Questions and discussion followed.

Chuck Conlen, representing DTE Energy, testified in opposition to HB 4715 and HB 4716. Questions and discussion followed.

Sarah Nielson, representing Consumers Energy, testified in opposition to HB 4715 and HB 4716.

Ed Rivet, representing the Conservative Energy Forum, testified in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716.

Jamie O'Brien, representing Advanced Energy Storage, testified in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716.

Robert Hazen and Zoe Ketola, representing themselves as students at Michigan Technological University, testified in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4715 and HB 4716, but did not wish to speak:

Reverend Sharon Burrty, representing the Detroit Hamtramck Coalition for Advancing Healthy Environments.

Steve Mulder, representing the Climate Witness Project.

Tom Hickson, representing the Michigan Catholic Conference.

Hajnal and Chris Minger, representing themselves.

Larry Junck, representing himself.

The Climate Action and Justice Group of the First Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Ann Arbor.

Wayne Appleyard, representing himself.

Stephen C. Brown, representing himself.

Rosalyn Barclay, representing herself.

Robert Minger, representing himself.

Joshua Barclay, representing himself.

Chris Hackbarth, representing the Michigan Municipal League.

John Dulmes, representing the Michigan Chemistry Council.

Jimmy Greene, representing the Associated Builders and Contractors - Michigan.

Kindra Weid, representing the MI Air MI Health.

Charles Griffith, representing the Ecology Center.

Andy Bandyk, representing the Citizens Utility Board of Michigan.

Salar Naini, representing Turning Point Energy.

Deana Denis, representing CERES.

Marc Smith, representing the National Wildlife Federation.

Amy Trotter, representing the Michigan United Conservation Clubs.

Todd Williams, representing Lean & Green Michigan.

Scott Ringlein, representing the Energy Alliance Group.

Justin Vandenbroeck, representing ESA Solar.

Scott DeYoung, representing Windemuller Electric.

Jason Slattery, representing Gem Energy.

James Cleland, representing Cloudbreak Energy Partners.

Tim Powers, representing Inovateus Solar.

Mike Malane, representing Power Home Solar.

Kelly Roache, representing Renewable Properties.

Mark Cryderman, representing The Green Panel.

Luke Olinyk, representing Harvest Solar.

Tim Minotas, representing the Sierra Club.

Andrew Vermeesch, representing the Michigan Farm Bureau.

Kellie and Jewel Lynne, representing themselves.

Marion P. Holt, representing herself.

Ruth A. Mohr, representing herself.

Julie Dybdahl, representing herself.

Kathleen Slonager, representing the Asthma and Allergy Foundation.

Lisa DelBuono, representing the Michigan Clinicians for Climate Action.

Alexis Blizman, representing the Ecology Center.

Kate Madigan, representing the Michigan Climate Action Network.

Missy Stults, representing the City of Ann Arbor.

Nicholas Occhipinti, representing the Michigan League of Conservation Voters.

Sister Mary Brigid Clingman, representing the Dominican Sisters.

Representative Yousef Rabhi, representing himself.

Debra Rowe, representing the U.S. Partnership for Education for Sustainable Development.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4715 and HB 4716, but did not wish to speak:

Jason Hayes, representing the Mackinac Center for Public Policy.

Stephanie Johnson, representing the UWUA.

Mike Johnston, representing the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

Representative Hoitenga moved to excuse Representatives Sneller and Cherry from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Bellino adjourned the meeting at 10:27 AM.

Representative Joe Bellino, Chair

Melissa Sweet Committee Clerk msweet@house.mi.gov